Because it’s hard to see ourselves the way we really are.

by cin salach

I am blessed to be surrounded by extraordinary people in my life. People that live with integrity, are mindful, authentic, loving, and always working to achieve higher levels of all those things.

But these extraordinary people rarely see themselves that way. They see themselves as failures or lost or broken beyond repair. And I listen to them and try to mirror for them what I see when I look at them. Which is divine.

And just as often, I go to them feeling like a failure, or lost, or broken beyond repair, and they mirror for me what they see. Which is divine.

I am surprised by how often we have to do this for each other. How can we not know by now how incredible we are?

We need to say it out loud. Loud and proud. We need to write it on a piece of paper and hang it on our mirror, like a personal life coach every morning telling us how to do this day. Like a best friend, telling us why who we are is exactly perfect. Like a map, showing us our “hot spots” and reminding us to visit them frequently.

Inspired by exactly that, my extraordinary friend and collaborator, Lenora Rand and I, created SELF. PROCLAIMED. A Workshop to create your personal manifesto.  Lenora and I have been circling around this idea for years, and I am so excited the door to offering this together has opened.

Here are the results of that first workshop for ME. My “Good Morning Manifesto”….

                        Make a big deal out of things

Wake up in the circle

embrace quiet so others can be heard

Be a cheek for someone’s tear

Be a tear for someone’s cheek

Remember: You can’t break your divine-ness

So stop worrying

 

And: Forgiveness is the reality that will heal you

Eat with your hands

Why? To bloom

 

cin manifesto

cin salach is an award-winning poet, teacher and workshop leader who these days spends her time helping people mark the important moments and occasions in their lives with poetry, at poemgrown.com

 

Leave a comment